SEWAGE TECHNICAL COMMITTEE 2017 ANNUAL REPORT

Laura Kramer Kuns, R.S., Chairperson Kramer Kuns Consulting, LLC (NE)

The Sewage Technical Committee dealt with a couple of items in 2017. There was no activity regarding the last version of SB 58 that allows property owners to postpone connection to a sanitary sewer for 15 years. Testimony was prepared in 2016 and is still ready for a review and revision should this legislation re-surface.

Early in 2017, revised piece of legislation Senate Bill 31 that was introduced by Senator John Eklund looked as though there might be several hearings. The bill would allow health districts to revert back to the sewage rules they were using in 2014 with a few provisions. The committee submitted comments and testimony preparation was started in response to the scheduling of a sponsor hearing. No additional hearings were scheduled in 2017 but our lobbyists continue to monitor the status.

The committee membership includes twelve local health district representatives (three from each district), and one representative from the following agencies: ODH, ODNR, and OEPA. The committee routinely reviews pending legislation, OEPA and ODH advisory group recommendations, proposed rule revisions and other sewage related activities. Dan Lark, Director of Environmental Health of the Lake County General Health District is our OEHA member on the ODH Sewage Technical Advisory Committee (TAC). Information from the TAC sessions is available on the ODH website. There are two vacancies on the sewage technical committee as indicated below; any member who works in the sewage program in the southwest who is interested in participating on the committee should email the chairman at kramerkunsconsulting@gmail.com. Most of our work is conducted via emails and when necessary we schedule a meeting or conference call.

Current Committee Members

Nate McConoughey, Cuyahoga County Dan Sinclair, Lake County Jim Cogar, Delaware County Eric Cherry, Huron County Kim Cupp, Fulton County Kristen Miller, Jackson County Janelle McManis, Vinton County Ed Shaffer, Muskingum County Kenton Domer-Shank, Montgomery County VACANT Gerry Tipton, Miami County Dusty Gurney Mark Stump VACANT	Northeast Northwest Northwest Northwest Southeast Southeast Southwest Southwest Southwest ODH OEPA ODNR
VACANT	ODINK